PATIENTLY WAITING ON A RESPONSE


I late fall 2013, I attended my first DAR meeting. I met two ladies at McDonald’s one afternoon. They were planning the Good Citizen awards for the local chapter. They needed a calendar, I provided an iPhone. I had been listening for some time, and deduced from their discussion they were DAR members. We sat for a while and talked about local history and our ancestors.

In October of 2000, my Mom and I travelled to Pennsylvania to do some investigative work on her side. That would be the descendants of Alexander Ewing, Patriot. We went to several court houses on our travels, Butler county, Lawrence and Venango, all placed some had lived in the 1700-1800’s. We were able to locate his grave in Plain Grove cemetery in Lawrence county cemetery. It took quite a bit of walking too!

ALEXANDER EWING 2

MY 4TH GREAT GRANDFATHER

MY 4TH GREAT GRANDFATHER

I have been contacted by the local chapter director, I need a few more documents for authentication. I need to send my parents birth certificates and marriage record. That should be the final items to get my membership approved.

One response »

  1. How exciting! I hope that everything works out well for you.

    One of my great-grandmothers had the maiden name Black. Her name was Annie Black Gunter. Maybe somehow we are connected.

    Have a great day!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

