Where do I come from?


This is me, about age 1. I grew up in Tampa, Florida. My parents are Hershel Harvey Pickens and Alberta Louise Dean. I have one sister, Christina Lynn Pickens.

My interest in genealogy began at about age thirteen. I was at my paternal grandmother’s house , eating lunch with her. I remember asking about her mother.  ” What was your mother’s name”, I asked. She said it as if she had not said her name in a long time. ” Maude, her name was Maude Jeffers” . She then told me that she had died at an early age. That was all I knew or was ever told. Years later, that would peak my interest again.

Leave a Reply

