Walking Through the Past


I have a strange fascination with cemeteries. It doesn’t have to be where any of my family is buried, I don’t even have to know them. My interest is in the past, the lives they had, their families, what they did for a living and how they died. I can creep ( no pun intended ) around an old cemetery for hours. However, it is more interesting to walk through one with a historical significance. Perhaps with American Revolution soldiers or Civil war. I have attachments to both. My fourth Great Grandfather was Alexander Ewing of Pennsylania. He is buried at Plaingrove cemetery in Mercer county, Pennsylvania. I visited his burial sire in 2000 with my mother. We were in Pennsylvania to see my grandmother Blanche Dean. She was the great granddaughter of Alexander Ewing. At the time of our trip, we did not know that two weeks later my grandmother would be gone. It was a trip I will never forget.

One response »

  1. Pingback: From Shoemaker to Shipowner « Sue Kenney

Leave a Reply

