CEMETERY FINDS


I love old cemeteries……

Really looking forward to getting out to some cemeteries again. Was out last Tuesday at Athens City cemetery and Old Town cemetery. I am really getting into cemetery lookups on FindaGrave as well. I like the fact you can post a listing on FindaGrave and request a photo of a headstone, especially if there is not already one posted on their site. I have had many a volunteer photo taken of some relatives. Now it is time to pay back the favor.

Athens Old Town cemetery

Mooresville cemetery

Photo request in Mooresville cemetery

Was glad to help out the person looking for their ancestor.

I am looking forward to going to Chickamauga battlefield soon. My 3rd great-grandfather, Joseph McCall, CSA, 46th Georgia Regiment, fought there, although died in the battle of Kennesaw mountain in Georgia. I would like to visit all the battlefields of the Civil War, and locate the grave of Joseph McCall. Maybe someday. For now, I will be satisfied to help out others looking for their ancestors.

 

 

Leave a Reply

