POND SPRING ” FIGHTIN JOE ” WHEELER HOME


WHEELER HOME

While out on Monday, I decided to go to west of Decatur. While I was out looking for decrepit cemeteries, I stopped at the gate of Pond Spring, the Wheeler home. It was closed at the time. So, I decided to go toward Courtland at this point. I was surprised a the architecture there. After visiting the local cemeteries, I headed east again, and this time the gate was open at the Wheeler home. I stopped to take a few photos.

Dogtrot cabin on Wheeler property

I started to walk up the path, and I was approached by the curator who was about to close the gates. She was extremely nice. I was of course inquiring about the cemetery. It is located about 50 yards behind the Wheeler home.The curator was very kind in explaining how I could get to see the cemetery and take photos. Also, the home has a Grand Opening on September 8th. They are doing an extensive remodel of the Wheeler home.

Leave a Reply

