FRIDAY FOOD FINDS …..FROM GRANDMAS


RECIPE FROM GRANDMOTHER EWING

When I see something that says, ” Great Grandma’s Thin Plum Cake “, I get excited….why? Because it is in my grandmother’s ( Blanche Ewing, pic # 2) writing, which would mean her great-grandmother was Catherine Rearick ( Rearic ) wife of Thomas, son of patriot Alexander Ewing. Or perhaps, Mary Polly Boylan, wife of William Jones. I am not sure which it is, but, still quite a find! Both great grandmothers died in Pennsylvania.

Chinese Cheerios

I remember going with my Aunt Ann to get this copied on a trip I took to Florida.  I don’t recall her ( my Nana, pic # 1)  ever making this particular recipe, but, we often made her Banana Nut Bread and Lemon Pound Cake, they were the best!!!

Each of these recipes were written by two different grandmothers, but, do you see the similarities in the writing? It was probably the Palmer method, predominantly taught in the 20th century.

Leave a Reply

