MONDAY MOURNING, GREATS AND GRANDS


PEOPLE WHO HAVE MADE A DIFFERENCE IN MY LIFE……..WHEN I WAS A TEEN, I LOVED SPENDING TIME WITH MY FAMILY. GRANDPARENTS ESPECIALLY. I WISH MORE KIDS WERE ENCOURAGED TO DO THE SAME. SO MUCH CAN BE LEARNED FROM THESE GIFTS. I AM MENTIONING IN THIS POST BOTH GRANDPARENTS AND GREAT AUNTS AND UNCLES. GREAT AND GRAND IS WHAT THEY TRULY ARE. 

MY NANA…MAMIE CHRISTINE MCCALL PICKENS, ONE OF THE LAST TIMES I SAW HER. SHE PASSED AWAY MAY 1, 2000. I WILL ALWAYS REMEMBER THE GAMES WE PLAYED, THE CAKES WE BAKED AND THE MANY FLOWERS WE PLANTED.

MY PAPA….HARVEY HERSHEL PICKENS, I ALWAYS REMEMBER HIM IN THE YARD. HE GREW EVERYTHING IN THAT CITY YARD, GREEN BEANS, EGGPLANT, PEPPERS, TOMATOES AND SQUASH.HE PASSED AWAY AFTER A FEW SHORT MONTHS OF ILLNESS, OCT 9, 1984.

MY GRANDMOTHER, BLANCHE ELEANOR EWING  DEAN….MY MOM AND I SPENT A WEEK WITH HER BEFORE SHE PASSED AWAY IN NOVEMBER 2000. WE TALKED ABOUT FAMILY HISTORY, WENT THROUGH PHOTOS AND GOT A FEW STORIES. I LOST TWO GRANDMOTHERS JUST 6 MONTHS APART. WE DID NOT LIVE NEAR HER, BUT , SUMMER VISITS WERE FUN! BAKING, WALKING AND VISITING NEIGHBORS. SHE HAD LITTLE , BUT, GAVE PLENTY.

MY AUNT ANN IS AN EXCEPTION TO THE REASON FOR THE POST. I PUT HER IN BECAUSE SHE WAS A POSITIVE INFLUENCE ON ME. WE HAD A GREAT TIME TOGETHER BACK IN MARCH OF 2008. SHE HAD BEEN DIAGNOSED WITH CANCER, AND HAD THE MOST POSITIVE OUTLOOK ON LIFE. WE ENJOYED TALKING ABOUT THE FAMILY HISTORY AND LOOKING AT PHOTOS. I WAS ON A GENEALOGY QUEST THAT TRIP. SHE TRAVELLED THE WORLD AND I ALWAYS LOVED LISTENING TO HER STORIES OF PLACES SHE HAD BEEN. THIS IS A PIC TAKEN WHILE ANN AND HUSBAND TOM WERE VISITING ME WHEN I LIVED IN FRANKLIN PENNSYLVANIA. I THINK IT WAS 1988.

MY AUNT ODESSA AND UNCLE THEO, TWO REMARKABLE PEOPLE. WE WOULD SPEND TIME WITH THEM IN PLANT CITY WHEN I WAS YOUNG, AND WHEN UNCLE THEO PASSED AWAY, I FELT I HAD LOST A FRIEND. THEY BOTH WERE WONDERFUL PEOPLE.

AUNT RUTH AND UNCLE TOM EWING. WHEN WE WOULD TRAVEL TO PENNSYLVANIA, I WOULD STAY WITH THEM ON THEIR FARM, SOMETHING MY MOTHER USED TO DO AS A CHILD. THEY HAD A HORSE, NEIGHBORING DOGS AND ALL THE ICE CREAM AND BLACK RASPBERRIES YOU COULD EAT!!! AND THE BEST SOUR CREAM CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES!

AND LAST, BUT, CERTAINLY NOT LEAST, MY GREAT AUNT RUTH PICKENS. I ALWAYS ADMIRED HER. SHE DRESSED IMMACULATELY. ALWAYS FUN TO BE AROUND. SHE DIDN’T VISIT AS OFTEN AS WE WOULD LIKE THOUGH. SHE WAS ALWAYS OFF IN A BIG CITY SOMEWHERE.

SPEND TIME WITH YOUR ANCESTORS, YOU NEVER KNOW WHAT GREAT INFORMATION YOU WILL RECEIVE, AS WELL AS THE TIME ENJOYED TOGETHER.

One response »

  1. What a beautiful post Patricia. You are so right, we should all learn to spend more time with our ancestors, family members and loved ones because they are gone all too quickly. You have some wonderful memories and have prompted me to jot down some of my own before they are lost.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

