Military Monday…..our family heroes


I don’t come from what you would call a ” military family “

but, we have lots of family members who have served their country.

Hershel Pickens Enlistment

In doing my family research, I was most fascinated to learn of ancestors who fought in the American Revolution. Alexander Ewing for instance, on my mothers side.He was in Pennsylvania during the Revolution. I have since found other ancestors on each side that helped establish our country. I am quite proud of that fact.

In the civil war, my third great-grandfather, Joseph McCall was an Irish Immigrant. He came to America somewhere between 1829-1849. He married in Georgia, and fought in the 46th Georgia Regiment.

My father was enlisted in the Air Force. He was a photographer while enlisted, and took photos of plane events, such as recording plane crashes. He also played on the basketball team.

My mom’s brother, Albert Dean was in the US Marines. His son,  Bill Dean, was in the US Navy.

My grandmother’s brother, Thomas E. Ewing was in the US Army, during WW II. He enlisted June 9, 1942.

Aircraft photo by Hershel Pickens

Thomas Ewing, United States Army

Hershel Pickens Air Force Collage

Albert Dean USMC

Leave a Reply

