TREASURE CHEST THURSDAY

TREASURE CHEST THURSDAY

EVERY ONCE IN AWHILE……YOU FIND A TREASURE

W T Pickens and L C Pickens, brothers

Josephine Pickens

I come across documents and headstones, that tie everything together. This is one such document.. And it led me further into the search for more Pickens. In Texas, they have great records online. Death records I have found on many ancestors.

I have ben able to tie family members to each other. I had suspicions, but, never concrete evidence. These death records gave me what I need to verify branches on the Pickens side. It did not take me as far as I would like, but, it did help a great deal.

Below, you will see the death records of some ancestors that I traced to Alabama. Where I live now in Decatur Alabama, that would be about 3 hours south, near Montgomery in Lowndes county.

Julia A. Brown Pickens

This states her father was M. Brown, she was born in Alabama. She was the wife of William Pickens, they married Lowndes county, Feb 28, 1841. Julia A is my 3rd great-grandmother.

Tom Pickens, listed as witness, was son, W T Pickens. I find it a little funny the cause of death is listed as senility, she was 95 years of age.

Josephine Pickens

Josie Pickens was the daughter of William and Julia Ann Brown Pickens. It looks as if she never married. I have found census records of her living with brothers. In 1900-1920 census, she lived with mother, who was a widow, brothers Tom and Leonidas and a sister Mary Snell. Mary married Simeon Snell and was a widow by 1891. The informant on Josie Pickens death record, was niece, Julie Essie Graves. She was the daughter of Harvey H Pickens. my 2nd great-grandfather.

The Pickens I have found came from North Carolina, to Alabama, through Mississippi all the way to Fannin county Texas.    

Leave a Reply

