GRAVEDIGGIN’


I decided to go out today and fulfill a few photo requests. I headed west, somewhat southwest. My plan was to go toward Trinity and Moulton. I had not yet surveyed any cemeteries in this part of Lawrence county.

I visited Grange Hall cemetery, also know as Morris cemetery in west Morgan county.

Grange Hall

As soon as a saw it, I though of a recent post by LS Moore, about people putting fencing around burial plots. This one had more than I had ever seen. And highly decorated. I researched online about it, and saw that each June, families come to decorate and cleanup the cemetery. This was a tradition I had never seen until I moved to Alabama. Most in Florida were flat, plain and unadorned. No interest, unless they were old! Every step I took today, uncovered a new group of headstones. In a cluster of bushes or trees, overgrown in the furthest areas, most could not see. You have to look beyond the new areas for the old. I would scan the distance and there I would see an obelisk. So many wrought iron fenced areas grouping the family together. And smaller stone fences surrounding single burials. I was able to find the photo request way back in a fenced area. It had been awhile since this gate had been opened. It is John Speer.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Eddie Thickston was just 13 years of age. He died while rock climbing in 1900.

©FANNIESYOURAUNT

2 responses »

  1. What a lovely cemetery! I love Eddie’s rock. It’s such a specific, visceral memorial that still leaves so many questions. And there are fences! It makes perfect sense that since the families care for the plots themselves, they’d want to mark their piece of land. You were lucky to find this one. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  2. I agree with Ismoore that the cemetery is lovely. It’s interesting how much cemeteries vary from one region to another. Eddie’s rock so poignantly reminds us of the great lose that his family must have felt.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

