HAPPY GRANDPARENTS DAY


I am not fortunate enough to still have my grandparents, but, as a tribute to both sets, here are photos of them.

Ruben and Blanche Ewing Dean, about 1940

Ruben and Blanche lived in Franklin Pennsylvania, where my mother Louise was born.When I was about 13, my other and I started visiting over the summer. Some of the best memories were going to their house on Myrtle  St. Baking with her, and walking around the town.

Harvey and Mamie McCall Pickens, about 1935

Harvey and Mamie first lived in Tampa, where I was born, and my father Hershel. We lived close to them, then we later moved to Bradenton, they soon followed. My memories are always of the beautiful lawn they had, cooking with Nana , in the vegetable garden with Papa picking the things he grew.Even later, even as I was a teen, visiting them was a joy. Most young people can not see the benefit of spending time with grandparents, I certainly did.

HAPPY GRANDPARENTS DAY!!!!

Leave a Reply

